Why Does Richard Dawkins Agree With Creationists?

Does he really agree with people like me?

Richard Dawkins has dedicated his life to the message of evolution and a godless universe. So what is the ground he shares with those who reject evolution and believe that mankind is God’s special creation?

I know for a fact that many serious and devout followers of Jesus believe in evolution. However, there are those of  us (including many scientists) who believe in a six day creation and a young earth. We are not dangerous fundementalists, but sane people who have robust and well thought out arguments for our beliefs. Whichever position you take, I hope in these next few posts to inspire, challenge and ultimately encourage us all to embrace the Lord Jesus more fully.

Christian evolutionists
Mr Dawkins wants us to know that many leading church people believe in evolution; Arch-
Bishops, Cardinals, Priests and theology teachers. The thing is, he believes that it is
irrational to believe in both evolution and God. Let’s look at why Mr Dawkins would think
that.

The Christian God is loving?
Christians like to tell people how loving God is, and yet Mr Dawkins looks at his version of
pre-history and sees it relying on death and the removal of the weak – not very loving.

The Christian God cares?
Mr Dawkins realises that if God designed man to develop from evolution, it tells us
something about the nature of God. Evolution relies on one generation dying off after
producing mutated offspring; and then each generation fighting amongst itself so that only
the strongest survives. If intelligent design is true, then that intelligence is totally uncaring.

The Christian God is compassionate?
Christians like to tell people how compassionate their God is, but when Mr Dawkins
studies the fossil record he sees cancers, deformity and destruction. He can’t be blamed
for thinking that the person who supposedly designed all this suffering is not very
compassionate.

We have a problem
Richard Dawkins understands that many Christians suffer from a terrible and illogical
conflict between what they say about God and what they say about our origins. If God
were the author of evolution, that would mean that He is the author of death, disease, conflict, and suffering. Far from being the defender of the weak, God would rely on their destruction as a means of promoting His creation. Mr Dawkins is clever enough to work out that this contradicts what Christians say about God.

Mr Dawkins agrees with the creationists
Okay, so I am pushing that one a bit. But, whilst He thinks that people who believe in
special creation are of sub-normal intelligence and a threat to society, he also realises that
their world view agrees with itself. He might disagree with creationists, but he understands that the creationist belief is not conflicted with itself.

True or false?
As I see it, we all struggle with allowing the Bible to interfere with what we believe at some level. It is this transformation in our thinking, by the Holy Spirit, that leads to maturity.
For me, believing in the literal interpretation of Genesis isn’t a question of science versus the Bible, it is a question of truth versus lies. The battle ground is about who decides what truth is, man or God? The fact is, that so many of the ills that are facing the church and society come from how we view those first few chapters of Genesis.

What is God really like?
Yahweh is compassionate, merciful, generous, long suffering, kind, gentle, just, He is a
defender of the weak, He lifts up the down trodden and cares for the poor. All of this is
the direct opposite of the nature of evolution. We can’t have it both ways, to be congruent
we need to make a choice, God is good or He invented mutation and death. My hope is that the next few posts will help people with that decision, or at least to engender a respect for those of us who believe this way.

If creation is true, then why does science prove the opposite?
Good question, stay tuned.

Go well my friends :-)

About Mark Neale

Jesus follower who got wrecked by the grace of God. Husband to Sandra, dad, grandpa, Christian educator, preacher and teacher.
This entry was posted in The Grace of God and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Why Does Richard Dawkins Agree With Creationists?

  1. savedbygrace says:

    I’ve watched a debate. it was attended by Richard Dawnkins and John Lennox.

    when listening to such people like Richard Dawnkins or to wordly intellectuals, sometimes i understand why they are so numb on things about God.

    I must admit, 25 yrs of my life as a Christian was really based on “yes God existence” because of pressure from home, pressure from church people, fear of going to hell (as it was inculcated early on as early as a 6-7 yrs old).

    had I not born into a religious family, and a well off family able to send me to a much liberated culture and education, I would probably become and atheist.

    true. as I see in the church, people profess to be Christians simply because they have spent their entire life in the system. then after frustrations, they become genuine Christians.

    now having said that, I got born again 3 yrs ago. weird. I know Jesus, I believe God is love, judge.
    I believe in the bible and Hell. but all of this did not contribute to me being a Christian. it programmed me.

    looking back to 25 yrs, I realize I did not found God nor did I seek God.
    God found me and seek me.. now It makes sense why would God become Man.
    God became a Man to reach me. He found me and called me.

    My take is, unless God himself reach to them, they will never reach Him.
    actually God reached and is reaching for them.

    “For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities—his eternal power and divine nature—have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that people are without excuse.” – Romans 1:20

    I am hopeful for that day to see Richard Dawnkins say “I am now a new creation in Jesus”.

    sorry long comment. great post means long comment :)

    – grace and peace

    • gotbygrace says:

      Hi there, thanks for your comment. BTW your blog is an inspiration!

      I do hope you don’t think the reason for my post was to attack Mr Dawkins, but rather to look at why we believe what we do, and to then consider the implicaitons of our beliefs. My argument is, that if as Christians we believe in evolution then we are contradictory in our faith; which of course Mr Dawkins would be all to keen to point out.

      Go well :-)

      • savedbygrace says:

        yes brother, we definitely are not attacking the person.
        you are absolutely right about the contradictions. to some extent, Christians are even persecuted for not believing the theory in their school

        my take on Science is this :
        – Science must exist to prove the Scriptures
        – Scripture must not be bent to confirm with science, but rather science must drop the theory if its not in harmony with scripture

        If Science says ‘Man is derived from Ape’ and it contradicts the scripture, then the theory must be discarded.

        the Psalmist, says the Stars Praises its creator. recently, scientist discovered that Stars emit frequencies and it is as if the stars are making music.
        Planets seems to Dance too.

        If only scientist are intelligent to check the scriptures for possible new discoveries, it would have been easier for them to find cure for disease, inventions, solutions to global issues rather than relying on their ‘experiments’.

        so If the scripture contradicts a theory, we better hold our ground, stand on it.

        in my school days, I was ridiculed for disagreeing with our biology teacher regarding ‘we all came from Ape’. even to the extent, I will leave blank answers to questions related to that.

        I honestly believe 100 yrs from now, this evolution thing by Darwin will be replaced by something better. after all man made stuff never really last.

        great discussion!

        – grace and peace

      • gotbygrace says:

        I am with you on this my friend.

        It is intersting to note that Einstein thought that the universe was static, not expanding. It wasn’t until Hubble discovered ‘Red Shift’ that the theory was dropped. Evolution will go the same way as science gets more honest with itself.

        Go well :-)

  2. Evolution does not rely on one generation dying off after producing mutated offspring; and then each generation fighting amongst itself so that only
    the strongest survives. If it did then every genera would contain only one species. Each species within a Genus share a common ancestor.

    God did create death

    Deuteronomy 30:19
    This day I call the heavens and the earth as witnesses against you that I have set before you life and death, blessings and curses. Now choose life, so that you and your children may live

    Adam is simply a retrojective conclusion of an ancient taxonomy which is based on an ancient phenomenological perspective of biology
    :- Denis Lamoureux

    In short, Adam is you and Adam is me. We all need a saviour.

    • gotbygrace says:

      Hi Kevin,

      Sorry bro, not buying that; though I do agree with your criticism of evolution. It can’t work ;-)

      In Deut 30:19 God is encouraging Israel to choose life, this is not a statement of God’s thoughts toward death.

      If Adam is simply a retrojective conclusion of an ancient taxonomy, then clearly Moses, David, Paul and Jesus had their classifications confused. For me this is the clincher, the writers clearly believed the Genesis account and I am not going to argue with them.

      Go well my friend :-)

      • Evolution works. Paul believed the world would end in his life time too.

      • gotbygrace says:

        Not sure that is the case. My understanding is that Paul believed in the ‘imminence’of Christ’s return. This is different from believing it would happen in his lifetime; rather it means it could happen. Paul Himself wrote Jesus would return as a thief in the night, meaning we don’t know when.

        Thanks for the comments :-)

  3. Freedomborn says:

    Hi gotbygrace thank you for you message once again it had much Truth, I appreciate greatly hearing Godly men and woman sharing God’s Truth and I love your responses to others, you are respectful but faithful to share the Truth.

    In regard to myself, I don’t go to man for confirmation of God’s Truth, I go to our only Teacher Jesus Christ, He leads me into all Truth, I did earnestly ask for God’s wisdom and I received it and I don’t doubt that I have it, I’m still learning but what I have already learnt I have no doubts it is God’s Truth and He has confirmed it by the Scriptures. I have never heard God’s voice audibly but have no problem with accepting that others do, He talks to me in my heart and we discuss many things and reason together but I don’t argue with God I learn in quietness of spirit and in submission to His Authority. One thing that is most important, we need God’s wisdom without it we will become confused or have only partial Truth..

    Proverbs 4:7 Wisdom is the principal thing; therefore get wisdom: and with all thy getting get understanding.

    1John 5:20 And we know that the Son of God is come, and hath given us an understanding, that we may know Him that is True, and we are in Him that is True, even in His Son Jesus Christ. This is the True God, and eternal life.

    Matthew 10:26-28 Fear them not therefore: for there is nothing covered, that shall not be revealed; and hid, that shall not be known. What I tell you in darkness, that speak ye in light: and what ye hear in the ear, that preach ye upon the housetops (KJV)

    1John 2:26-28 These things have I written unto you concerning them that seduce you. But the anointing which ye have received of Him abideth in you, and ye need not that any man teach you but as the same anointing teacheth you of all things, and is Truth, and is no lie, and even as it hath taught you, ye shall abide in Him.

    Psalm 32:8
    I will instruct you and teach you in the way you shall go.
    I will guide you with Mine eye.

    In regards to knowing Jesus return we are to watch for the signs as you know…

    1 Thessalonians 5 :2 -6 For yourselves know perfectly that the day of the Lord so cometh as a thief in the night. For when they shall say, Peace and safety; then sudden destruction cometh upon them, as travail upon a woman with child; and they shall not escape. But ye, brethren, are not in darkness, that that day should overtake you as a thief. Ye are all the children of light, and the children of the day: we are not of the night, nor of darkness. Therefore let us not sleep, as do others; but let us watch and be sober.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

  4. Hi, I like your blog, even though I am an OEC, and I do admit that YEC in my view has severe problems of its own. But I guess that can be said of any perspective, including mine. So just wanted to say that I agree with most of your criticism on Mr.Dawkins; however I do think its kind of unfair to paint OEC interpretation of the scriptures as “lies”, there are valid arguments there as well. Plus I would not put evolution as a something cruel designed by God. I mean we can also argue, and most people do, that the Law of Moses is cruel and uncaring at times too, so I do not think why evil, which in case of evolution can be and is called natural evil, considered evil in a pure theological sense? It is not and I think anyone trying to prove this would have a hard time.

    Anyway, I do believe that our focus should be on Christ alone, whether its a matter of 6 days or millions is a trivial thing when compared to the bond we have in Christ. And for that, God bless you, keep writing.

    John.

    • gotbygrace says:

      Hi John,

      Thanks for reading and taking time to comment.

      I suspect I need to improve my literary skills, my article wasn’t opposing Mr Dawkins, I was trying to say he cannot understand how a Christian can believe in evolution.

      Though I believe that there is a very robust scientific argument against evolution (especially if you take God out of the equation), theologically I can make no sense of it. We still have to answer why Paul bases His theology of death and new life on the Genesis account; and why jesus Himself believed it.

      Thanks and blessings :-)

      • Oh I am sorry If I read it that way, actually I thought you were being sarcastic, anyway thanks for pointing that out, I re-read your post and I see your point.

        I lean towards theistic evolution, and I am also aware that we have lack of concrete evidence for Macro evolution. But I still believe it is the best model to explain the biological advent of life. And frankly I am not taking God out of the equation at all.

        I agree with your point of Paul, but we could also argue that Adam is the first description of a man in the Bible whom God made himself, not outside of it. So therefore in a sentient sense, Adam is the first man, in a biological sense he is not. Therefore Paul is not wrong to base his theology on Adam at all. In fact he might not be aware of the other species of Homo which existed before Adam, so no reason to think he will base his theology on someone else than Adam.

        However I do differ on one thing, I think the process of death did exist before the garden of Eden. Because it does not make sense other wise.

        Blessings to you too. :)

    • savedbygrace says:

      it’s good to finally see you here in our mini discussion :)
      be blessed John

      – grace and peace

Leave a Reply

